President of Ukraine

Petro Poroshenko, President of Ukraine (since June 7, 2014) Poroshenko Petro Oleksiyovych, born in the city of Bolhrad, Odesa region, on September 26, 1965. Citizen of Ukraine. Resides within the territory of Ukraine since the date of birth, particularly in the course of the last 23 years since the day of declaring the Independence of Ukraine. Higher education: 1982-1989 – More →

President of the Central African Republic

Alexandre-Ferdinand Nguendet, Acting President of the Central African Republic (Since Jan 10, 2014) As a member of the Central African Democratic Rally (RDC), Nguendet served for a time as a Deputy in the National Assembly, representing the fifth arrondissement of Bangui, the capital. In early 2013, Nguendet founded a new political party, the Rally for the Republic (RPR). When the Séléka More →

President of Madagascar

Hery Rajaonarimampianina, President of Madagascar (elected on Dec 20, 2013) Hery Rajaonarimampianina was born on November 6, 1958 to a modest family. He lived in Sabotsy Namena, neighborhood of Antananarivo, Madagascar. In 1982, Rajaonarimampianina obtained a MBA at the “Etablissement d’Enseignement Supérieur de Droit, d’Economie, de Gestion et de Sciences Sociales (EESDEGS) – Université d’Ankatso Antananarivo. Then, he moved to More →

President of Chile

Michelle Bachelet, President of Chile (elected on Dec 15, 2013) On 15 December 2013, Bachelet won a runoff election, regaining the presidency. She is the first person to be elected to a second term as President since Arturo Alessandri’s third term ended in 1938. Bachelet previously won the 2006 presidential election in a runoff, defeating center-right candidate and former senator More →

President of Switzerland

Didier Burkhalter, President of Switzerland (elected on Dec 4, 2013) Didier Burkhalter (born 17 April 1960 in Neuchâtel) is a Swiss politician of FDP.The Liberals. As of January 1, 2014, he serves as President of the Swiss Confederation. He was elected as member of the Swiss Federal Councilon 16 September 2009, and succeeded Pascal Couchepin on 1 November 2009 when More →

Prime Minister of Luxemburg

Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister of Luxemburg (since Dec 4, 2013) Xavier Bettel (born 3 March 1973), a Luxembourg politician and lawyer, has been Prime Minister of Luxembourg since 4 December 2013 when he succeeded Jean-Claude Juncker. Representing the Democratic Party, he has previously served as Mayor of Luxembourg City as well as a member of the Chamber of Deputies and More →

President of Georgia

Giorgi Margvelashvili, President of Georgia (since Nov 17, 2013) Giorgi Margvelashvili was elected President of Georgia on 27 October 2013. A former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education and Science in the government of Prime Minister Bidzina Ivanishvili, Mr. Margvelashvili is a committed democrat and reformer who revitalised the country’s education system after years of neglect. While he is not More →

President of Maldives

Abdulla Yameen, President of Maldives (since Nov 17, 2013) Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom is the 6th and current President of the Republic of Maldives. He had been the Minority Leader of the People’s Majlis, the legislature of the Maldives as an elected Member of Parliament for four successive terms from 1993 onwards. He has represented constituencies in Meemu and Baa More →

President of Tadjikistan

Emomalii Rahmon, President of Tadjikistan UPDATE:  In presidential elections on Nov 6, 2013, incumbent Emomalii Rakhmon wins 83.1% of the vote. He was born to a peasant family in Dangara, Kulob province. As an apparatchik rising through the nomenklatura, his original power base was as chairman of the collective state farm of his native Dangara. In 1990 he was elected More →

Prime Minister of Norway

Erna Solberg, Prime Minister of Norway (since Oct 16, 2013) Erna Solberg (born 24 February 1961) is a Norwegian politician who has been leader of the Conservative Party since 2004 and Prime Minister of Norway since October 2013. Solberg has served as a member of the Storting since 1989 and served as Minister of Local Government and Regional Development in More →

President of Dominica

Charles Savarin, President of Dominica (elected on Sept 30, 2013) Following the demise of the Patrick John government (in which Savarin played and integral role)Savarin was made Chairman of the Committee for National Salvation (CNS). This body comprising members of the greater cross section of Dominican Society, was tasked with overseeing the transition to an interim government. Savarin contested the More →

President of Pakistan

Mamnoon Hussain, President of Pakistan (since Sept 9, 2014) Mamnoon Hussain hails from an Urdu-speaking family of shoe traders and was born in Agra, British India. He and his family migrated to Karachi in 1949 after the Partition of India in 1947. He earned his degree from the Institute of Business Administration (IBA) in Karachi in the 1960s. Hussain was More →

President of Mali

Ibrahim Boubacar Keita, President of Mali (since Sept 4, 2013) Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta (born January 29, 1945), or as he is often known IBK, is a Malian politician who has been President of Mali since 2013. Previously he was Prime Minister of Mali from 1994 to 2000 and President of the National Assembly of Mali from 2002 to 2007. He More →

President of Iran

Hassan Rouhani, President of Iran Hassan Rouhani (born 12 November 1948) is the 7th President of Iran, in office since 2013. He is also a Muslim cleric (with the status of a Shia Mujtahid), lawyer, academic and former diplomat. He has been a member of Iran’s Assembly of Experts since 1999, member of the Expediency Council since 1991, member of More →

Prime Minister of Australia

Kevin Rudd, Prime Minister of Australia (sworn in on Jun 27, 2013) Kevin Rudd (born Sep 21, 1957) served as Australia’s 26th Prime Minister between 2007-2010 and subsequently as Australia’s Foreign Minister from 2010 until 2012. Mr Rudd was elected as Leader of the Labor Party in 2006 and was only the third Labor leader to win government from opposition More →

Prime Minister of Italy

Enrico Letta, Prime Minister of Italy (since Apr 24, 2013) The Prime Minister of Italy, officially the President of the Council of Ministers of the Italian Republic (Italian: Presidente del Consiglio dei Ministri) is the head of government of the Italian Republic. While the office is similar to those in most other parliamentary systems, the Italian prime minister has less More →

President of Paraguay

Horacio Cartes, President of Paraguay (elected Apr 21, 2013) Horacio Manuel Cartes Jara (born 5 July 1956) is a Paraguayan businessman and Paraguay’s president-elect as of the April 2013 elections. He is a member of the Colorado Party and is scheduled to take office on 15 August. Cartes owns about two dozen businesses in his Grupo Cartes conglomerate including tobacco, More →

President of Venezuela

Nicolás Maduro, President of Venezuela (elected on Apr 14, 2013) Nicolás Maduro Moros (Spanish pronunciation: [nikoˈlaz maˈðuɾo ˈmoɾos]; born 23 November 1962) is a Venezuelan politician who is the current President of Venezuela. He was previously the Vice President of Venezuela and the Minister of Foreign Affairs under President Hugo Chávez. A former bus driver, Maduro rose to become a trade More →