President of the Marshall Island

Christopher Loeak, President of the Marshall Island (since Jan 3, 2012)

Christopher Loeak, President of the Marshall Island

Christopher Loeak, President of the Marshall Island

Christopher Loeak (born 11 November 1952) is the current president of the Marshall Islands. He was elected by parliament following the Marshall Islands presidential election, 2012.

Loeak was born on the Ailinglaplap Atoll on 11 November 1952. He attended Marshall Island High School before traveling to the United States to study at the Hawaii Pacific College and Gonzaga University School of Law. Loeak is a native speaker of Marshallese and also speaks English. He is married to Anono Lieom Loeak and has three children and eight grandchildren.

Loeak was first elected to the Nitijela in 1985 when he represented the Ailinglaplap Atoll. He served in the cabinet of President Amata Kabua as Minister of Justice from 1988 to 1992. He became Minister of Social Services in 1992 and held that post until 1996 when Kunio Lemari became acting president on the death of Kabua and Loeak became Minister of Education. He held the education portfolio for two years, continuing his cabinet work under President Imata Kabua who was sworn in in 1997. Kabua made him Minister for the Ralik Chain of islands in 1998, holding that position for a year and also undertaking an additional portfolio as Minister-in-Assistance to the President in 1999.

During his time in the Nitijela Loeak took an active part in many of its committees including those for the Judiciary and Government Relations; Public Account, Health and Education and Social Services (which he chaired); Foreign Affairs and Trade; Appropriation; Resource and Development; International Protection, Peace, Security and Protection of the Environment. He was also a member of the Second and Third Constitutional Conventions, serving as vice-president of the latter, and chaired the Bill of Rights Committee. Loeak was part of the team that negotiated the extension of the United States lease of the Marshallese part of the Ronald Reagan Ballistic Missile Defense Test Site after an eight year deadlock on talks. The Marshall Islands government agreed to accept payment of $32 million in return for extending the lease on the site.

Loeak was re-elected to the Nitijela in 2007 and has held the seat of Ailinglaplap since then. He re-entered the cabinet in 2008 as Minister-in-Assistance to President Litokwa Tomeing.

Loeak became president of the Marshall Islands in January 2012 when the Nitijela elected him to that post. Loeak defeated incumbent president Jurelang Zedkaia by 21 votes to 11. Zedkaia has agreed to co-operate with the new administration and Loeak is expected to name his cabinet and be officially sworn in within a week.

Litokwa Tomeing, Former President of the Marshall Island

Litokwa Tomeing, President of the Marshall Island

Litokwa Tomeing, President of the Marshall Island

President Iroij Litokwa Tomeing was born on October 14, 1939 on Wotje Atoll, Republic of the Marshall Islands. As a young child, Tomeing attended Catholic Elementary School in Likiep and Jaluit, respectively, from 1950-1954. He went on to attend Intermediate School in Majuro from 1954-1957.

Tomeing went on to PIC High School in Pohnpei, graduating successfully in 1961. From 1970-1972, Tomeing undertook University of Hawaii extension studies.

Mr. Tomeing first entered the public service of the Marshall Islands in 1961 as Principal/Teacher at Ebon Elementary School and remained there until 1964. He left Ebon for Majuro and continued in his teaching profession at Rita Elementary School from 1965-1968.

He first entered local politics when he ran and successfully attained the mayoral seat for Wotje Atoll, serving as Mayor for Wotje from 1965-1969, a role which he once held simultaneously with his teaching post at Wotje Elementary School from 1968-1973.

Mr. Tomeing returned to Majuro in 1974 and took up the position of Media and Curriculum Specialist at Marshall Islands High School.

Mr. Tomeing entered big time politics when he entered the Nitijela (national parliament) race and successfully won the seat for Ebon, Namdrik, Kili, and Jaluit atolls, retaining that seat from 1974-1978.

In 1976, he was appointed as one of the Marshall Islands’ delegates to the Federated States of Micronesia Constitutional Convention in Saipan, Mariana Islands.

Two years later in 1978, he was also selected as delegate and member at large to the Marshall Islands Constitutional Convention held in Majuro.

Shortly following the country’s full independence as a sovereign nation and separation from the Federated States of Micronesia, he became one of the 33 members of the Marshall Islands’ Nitijela in 1979 to the present day.

He became Vice Speaker of the Nitijela from 1992 to 1995, and then member of the Cabinet as Minister in Assistance to the President with direct supervisory role over the Ratak chain of islands in the Republic from 1996-1998.

Mr. Tomeing became Speaker of the Nitijela in 2000 until his election to the presidency on January 2008.

His hobbies include fishing, home gardening, and travelling.

Mr. Tomeing is married to Arlin Tomeing and they have seven children and a handful of grandchildren.


Kessai Hesa Note, Former President of Marshall Islands

Kessai Hesa Note, Former President of Marshall Islands

Kessai Hesa Note, Former President of Marshall Islands

Kessai Hesa Note (born August 7, 1950 in Ailinglaplap) is the president of the Marshall Islands. He was elected in 2000 by Parliament. He is a member of the United Democratic Party. He was reelected by parliament in January 2004, receiving 20 votes, while Justin deBrum received 9.

  • http://yahoo,com junior shem

    emaron emman background but earr jab lon tabrak nan jidik,ewi earr jab mol naan im jerbal ko aer jen jinoun tok rainin emoj an bar oktak kobban kien ne an rimajol kio ejjab aer bwe ren komman money kon jerbal ne rej bad juon kom lak bad ilo chair ne romoloklok ke rej jerbal aeilon kane im armij rane,ak kwon ba ta itok nan kwelok they talk like they doing there job’i’ll say that they dont?ewi elap aerriab konnan kon ke armij ron aer konnan,im armij rej lomnak relukkin meletlet.

  • http://yahoo,com junior shem

    bar juon itok nan menin money,ij jab ke won ak natt ear walok kain problem rot in’jen 1993 eo liktak ke ak 2000 eo?BAJ KAJITOK WOT MENIN IJAB BA 93 eo ak rankein.jonnan lon ruub ilo kien ne an rimajol jonnan jejab kea kon ta enaj walok,juon ne armij rokot jaan jen kien etta rej jab konke emaj an kar wor manlok juon men elukkin lap jonnan rokot jen money kane me raj jen federal ak grants.kain jorran rot in ejjelok kajitok kake likit er ilo kalbuj,ta ne etale ke er wot ro rej sign ak rejela kon roj relon money.ak bar men eo juon enaj kalikar wawein aer bad im mour ak men ko bwiner ak jenba mweir {example}wa ko wair moko mweir armij renij ba jen jerbal ko aer jabb riab men lukkuin kalimjaklok mok armij ranaij make loe.

  • http://yahoo,com junior shem

    itok men travel ak kwelok ko lal ko ralap,bar juon in jikin ej rolok money ie,ewi naan ne rej ba jaan ilo bajjo ij jab bwe in kwalok kilen an kien kojerbal ak ej naan an rikien kalimjake.main point eo ej konke rej akuij make koboj koban bojjo ko aer,ewi wawein kojerbal jaan ko aer make im kojbarok recpit(rijit in jan ko ne rej wia)…bar juon komolol anij konke ear kalet kom nan jerbal kein?